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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 1 
MEDICAL QUALITY ASSURANCE 2 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 3 
 4 

MINUTES 5 
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE 6 

 7 
November 12, 2013 8 

 9 
General Board Business started: 12:30 p.m. 10 
 11 
CALL TO ORDER: 12 
Dr. Timothy Underhill, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 12:30 p.m.  Those 13 
present for all or part of the meeting included the following: 14 
 15 
BOARD MEMBERS: 16 
Timothy Underhill. O.D., Chair 17 
Terrance Naberhaus, O.D., Vice-Chair 18 
Tamara Maule, O.D. 19 
Stuart Kaplan, O.D. 20 
Christopher King, O.D., F.A.A.O. 21 
Rosa McNaughton, J.D., M.S. 22 
 23 
BOARD MEMBERS: 24 
Rod Presnell, R.Ph. (unexcused) 25 
 26 
BOARD STAFF: 27 
Bill Miller, Executive Director 28 
Sharon Guilford, Program Operations Administrator 29 
 30 
BOARD COUNSEL: 31 
Larry Harris, Assistant Attorney General 32 
Office of Attorney General 33 
 34 
OTHERS PRESENT: 35 
Jennifer Wenhold, Department of Health 36 
Michael Curtis, Department of Health 37 
Miley Williams, Department of Health 38 
Zohre Bahrayni, Department of Health 39 
John Griffin, Florida Optometry Association 40 
 41 
DISCUSSION OF PROPOSED RULES: 42 
 43 
Dr. Naberhaus/Mr. Harris: 44 
 45 
 64B13-4.001, F.A.C. – Examination Requirements   46 
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 1 
Mr. Lawrence presented the drafted language for board review. 2 
 3 
64B13-4.001  Examination Requirements. 4 
(1)   The Florida licensure examination authorized in section 463.006(2), F.S., shall 5 
consist of the following parts: 6 
(a)   Part I – the Applied Basic Science (ABS) portion of the examination developed by 7 
the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) a written examination on 8 
applicable Florida laws and rules governing the practice of optometry developed by the 9 
Florida Department of Health; 10 
(b)   Part II – the Patient Assessment and Management (PAM) portion of the examination 11 
developed by the NBEO which includes an embedded Treatment and Management of 12 
Ocular Disease (TMOD) examination.  An applicant for licensure in Florida must obtain 13 
a passing score on the TMOD section of the examination a practical examination 14 
containing a clinical portion and a pharmacology/ocular disease portion developed by the 15 
Florida Department of Health; 16 
(c)   Part III – the Clinical Skills (CSE) portion of the examination developed by the 17 
NBEO.  An applicant for licensure in Florida must obtain a passing score on each skill 18 
within the CSE portion of the examination the Applied Basic Science portion of the 19 
examination developed by the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO); and 20 
(d)   Part IV –a written examination on applicable Florida laws and rules governing the 21 
practice of optometry developed by the Florida Department of Health, which may not be 22 
taken prior to graduation. the Patient Assessment and Management portion of the 23 
examination developed by the NBEO. 24 
(2)   An applicant for licensure must achieve a passing score grade on all four parts of the 25 
Florida licensure examination.  A score of 84 percent (84%) or better must be obtained in 26 
order to achieve a passing score on Part IV I of the Florida licensure examination.  A 27 
score of 80 percent or better must be obtained on each section of Part II in order to 28 
achieve a passing score on Part II of the Florida licensure examination.  Passing scores 29 
for Part I, Part II, and Part III and Part IV of the Florida licensure examination are 30 
established by the NBEO.  Given constant advances in research, and developing 31 
knowledge in the area of basic and clinical science as applied to the diagnosis, correction, 32 
remedy, and relief of insufficiencies or abnormal conditions of the human eyes and their 33 
appendages, variances in the scope of optometric practice among the states, and the 34 
importance of fundamental clinical skills to patient health and safety, passing scores on 35 
Part I, Part II, and Part III and Part IV  of the Florida licensure examination must be 36 
obtained within the seven (7) year period immediately preceding June 1 of the year that 37 
the applicant takes Parts I and II of the Florida licensure examination application to take 38 
Part IV of the licensure examination.  Provided, however, an applicant must submit 39 
qualifying passing scores on Part III and Part IV no later than July 1 of the year the 40 
applicant applies to take Parts I and II of the Florida licensure examination. 41 
(3)   [Deleted in its entirety] 42 
(3 4)   Certification Examination.  A licensee applying for certification must obtain a 43 
passing score on either the TMOD examination embedded in the Patient Assessment and 44 
Management portion of the examination developed by the NBEO or a passing score on 45 
the stand alone TMOD examination developed by the NBEO the TMOD part of the 46 
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Patient Assessment and Management portion of the NBEO or must have obtained a 1 
passing score on the state certification examination.     2 
 3 
Dr. Naberhaus moved to approve the above language in Rule 64B13-4.001, F.A.C.  4 
The motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 5 
 6 
Dr. King moved that the proposed rule would not have any adverse impacts on 7 
small businesses and the proposed rule would not be likely to directly or indirectly 8 
increase regulatory costs to any entity (including government) in excess of $200,000 9 
in the aggregate in Florida within 1 year after the implementation of the rule.  The 10 
motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 11 
 12 
 64B13-4.002, F.A.C. – Reexamination    13 
 14 
Mr. Lawrence presented the drafted language for board review. 15 
 16 
 64B13-4.002  Reexamination. 17 
 18 
An applicant who fails to achieve a passing score on Part IV I or Part II of the state 19 
examination for licensure shall be required to retake only that portion of the licensure 20 
examination on which he or she failed to achieve a passing grade, provided that the 21 
applicant shall be limited to two (2) retakes within a twelve (12) twenty-eight (28) month 22 
period from the date of the original failure.  The Board may grant an extension of time of 23 
one additional year to allow a second retake based on medical disability substantiated by 24 
documentation from the applicant’s physician. If the applicant fails to achieve a passing 25 
score grade on Part IV as provided above, the applicant’s passing scores on Part I, Part II, 26 
and Part III of the licensure examination must have been obtained within the time period 27 
set forth in Rule 64B13-4.001 (2) before the applicant will be allowed any further 28 
attempts to obtain a passing score on Part IV he or she shall be required to take the 29 
complete state examination for licensure and certification examination in order to be 30 
entitled to be licensed.   31 
 32 
Dr. Naberhaus moved to approve the above language in Rule 64B13-4.002, F.A.C.  33 
The motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 34 
 35 
Dr. Maule moved that the proposed rule would not have any adverse impacts on 36 
small businesses and the proposed rule would not be likely to directly or indirectly 37 
increase regulatory costs to any entity (including government) in excess of $200,000 38 
in the aggregate in Florida within 1 year after the implementation of the rule.  The 39 
motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 40 
 41 
 64B13-4.003, F.A.C. – Examination Review Procedures  42 
 43 
Mr. Lawrence presented the drafted language for board review. 44 
 45 
64B13-4.003  Examination Review Procedure. 46 
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An applicant is entitled to review his or her examination questions, answers, papers, 1 
grade and grading key used on Part IV of the licensure examination in the state 2 
examination for licensure; however, no applicant may copy any materials provided for 3 
his or her review.  Such review shall be conducted during regular business hours, in the 4 
presence of a representative of the Board at the Board’s official headquarters.  To 5 
schedule a review of Part IV, an applicant must request a review within twenty-one (21) 6 
days of the official score release date.  An applicant is entitled to review his or her 7 
examination questions, answers, papers, grades and grading key used in Part I, Part II, 8 
and Part III of the licensure examination the National Board of Optometry examination to 9 
the extent authorized by security or access guidelines of the National Board of Examiners 10 
in Optometry national examiniation. 11 
 12 
Dr. Naberhaus moved to approve the above language in Rule 64B13-4.003, F.A.C.  13 
The motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 14 
 15 
Dr. Kaplan moved that the proposed rule would not have any adverse impacts on 16 
small businesses and the proposed rule would not be likely to directly or indirectly 17 
increase regulatory costs to any entity (including government) in excess of $200,000 18 
in the aggregate in Florida within 1 year after the implementation of the rule.  The 19 
motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 20 
 21 
 64B13-4.004, F.A.C. – Manner of Application   22 
 23 
Mr. Lawrence presented the drafted language for board review. 24 
 25 
64B13-4.004  Manner of Application. 26 
(1) Any person desiring to be licensed as a certified optometrist a licensed practitioner 27 
shall apply to the department to take the licensure examination.  The board will determine 28 
if an applicant qualifies for licensure examination.  The board will approve an each 29 
applicant for licensure as a certified optometrist who: 30 
(a)  Completes the application forms as required in subsection (2) below and remits the 31 
required fees to the department. 32 
(b)  Submits satisfactory proof that the applicant: 33 
1.  Is at least 18 years of age. 34 
2.  Is of good moral character. 35 
3. Has graduated from a school or college of optometry approved by the board which has 36 
been accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) and 37 
which remains accredited by ACOE.   38 
4. Has successfully completed at least 110 hours of transcript-quality course-work and 39 
clinical training in general and ocular pharmacology at an institution that: 40 
a.  Has facilities for both didactic and clinical instruction in pharmacology; and 41 
b. Is accredited by a regional or professional accrediting organization that is recognized 42 
and approved by the Council on Postsecondary Accreditation or the United States 43 
Department of Education. 44 
5.  Has completed at least 1 year of supervised experience in differential diagnosis of eye 45 
disease or disorders as part of the optometric training or in a clinical setting. 46 
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6.  Has successfully completed all parts of the licensure examination required by Rule 1 
64B13-4.001, F.A.C.  2 
(2)  All applications for licensure as a certified optometrist examination shall be made on 3 
the form titled “Application for Licensure as Certified Optometrist Optometry” number 4 
DH-MQA 1128 (Revised   5/10), which is hereby incorporated by reference 5 
and can be obtained from the board office or at : 6 
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/optometry.  All applications for licensure as a certified 7 
optometrist examination shall include the application fee as specified in subsection 8 
64B13-6.001 (7), F.A.C., the department administrative cost as specified in subsection 9 
64B-1.016, F.A.C., and the initial licensure fee as specified in subsection 64B13-6.001 10 
(1), F.A.C.  No application shall be deemed complete which does not set forth all the 11 
information required by said forms and which fails to include all fees as set forth in this 12 
rule.  Applications for licensure must be received by the Department at least 120 days 13 
prior to the examination. 14 
(3)   Applicants are required to complete a 2-hour course relating to prevention of 15 
medical errors as part of the licensure process.  The course shall be approved by the 16 
Board and shall include a study of root-cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, 17 
and patient safety. 18 
(4)  Any licensed practitioner licensed to practice optometry in Florida prior to July 1, 19 
1993 who is not a certified optometrist and who desires to be licensed as a certified 20 
optometrist shall apply to the department for certification.  The board will approve a 21 
licensed practitioner for licensure as a certified optometrist who satisfies the requirements 22 
of subsection (1)(b) 4. and 5., above,, successfully completes the certification 23 
examination set forth in Rule 64B13-4.001 (3), F.A.C., and remits the fee established in 24 
Rule 64B13-6.001 (7), F.A.C. 25 
 26 
Dr. Naberhaus moved to approve the above language in Rule 64B13-4.004, F.A.C.  27 
The motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 28 
 29 
Dr. Kaplan moved that the proposed rule would not have any adverse impacts on 30 
small businesses and the proposed rule would not be likely to directly or indirectly 31 
increase regulatory costs to any entity (including government) in excess of $200,000 32 
in the aggregate in Florida within 1 year after the implementation of the rule.  The 33 
motion was seconded and carried 6/0. 34 
 35 
Proposed from Dr. King  36 
 37 
INFORMATION 38 
 39 
Letter from Nova Southeastern College of Optometry Students (Proposed 40 
Adjustment to the Administration of the Florida Board of Optometry Licensing 41 
Examination)      42 
 43 
There was no action taken. 44 
 45 
NEXT MEETING DATE: 46 
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 1 
December 6, 2013 – Tampa 2 
 3 
General Board Business ended: 1:39 p.m. 4 
 5 
ADJOURNMENT 6 
 7 
The meeting was adjourned at 1:39 p.m. 8 


